PDA

View Full Version : $35 Xbox 360s?


baddawg12
07-12-2008, 11:17 PM
Check out this link to $34.99 Xbox 360 Pro systems.

http://www.refurbishedxbox360s.com/index.php

Do you think this is real or just a plain ol' scam?

Sanction
07-12-2008, 11:19 PM
If something is too good to be true, it usually is.

KlicK
07-12-2008, 11:52 PM
No self respecting business would not accept PayPal. Unless I'm blind, I see no way to use PayPal with that site. There's no way I'd reveal my debit card info to that site.

EDIT: http://whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=refurbishedxbox360s&tld=com

Why in the world would a legitimate business have their whois private? That's ridiculous.

*places KlicK's spam stamp on it*

DigitalFury
07-13-2008, 01:25 AM
They're based in Asia so I doubt they have any of the quality standards and government guidelines we have here in America. Sorry, but if China can get away with sending us poisonous toothpaste and kids toys painted with lead paint then that company can get away with selling broken machines.

Parkerktm
07-13-2008, 01:27 AM
I'm sure if you ordered one, a SexBox would show up on your doorstep the next week.

299
07-13-2008, 01:37 AM
If something is too good to be true, it usually is.

Couldn't have said it better my self.

gatorbait
07-13-2008, 02:17 AM
Some deals seem a little sketchy but there is not one reason at all to believe this one.

hopesfall2win
07-13-2008, 02:35 AM
They have a 1 year warranty at least..that's something..

I just checked the FAQ:
Why is this Xbox 360 System so cheap?

We get paid through our network of sponsors for every survey you fill out. This gives us the purchasing power necessary to pass these large discounts on to you.

GameFreak47
07-13-2008, 02:44 AM
Wouldn't be smart to buy a 360 there.

Is there any reviews for the site? I'm sure a few people have bought a 360 there.

sirnerd84
07-13-2008, 04:10 AM
I almost want to buy one just to see what shows up.

D3adcell86
07-13-2008, 04:27 AM
They have a 1 year warranty at least..that's something..

I just checked the FAQ:
Why is this Xbox 360 System so cheap?

We get paid through our network of sponsors for every survey you fill out. This gives us the purchasing power necessary to pass these large discounts on to you.

Because that makes sense...

Companies are in business to make money. They aren't going to be selling refurbed 360's at 35$ each. They are probably just stealing your cc info or something.

Viroblade3
07-13-2008, 12:23 PM
This would be something I would consider purchasing, although they probably make you fill out surveys and offers.

Randomnutta
07-13-2008, 01:29 PM
No self respecting business would not accept PayPal. Unless I'm blind, I see no way to use PayPal with that site. There's no way I'd reveal my debit card info to that site.

EDIT: http://whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=refurbishedxbox360s&tld=com

Why in the world would a legitimate business have their whois private? That's ridiculous.

*places KlicK's spam stamp on it*
i agree no Paypal = no safty i dont buy anything online unless they have a Paypal option

JustCommunication
07-13-2008, 01:31 PM
Actually, the fact that they are based in Asia kind of makes sense - everything's cheaper out there because their economies aren't as good as the Western ones

So that could explain the prices, but yeah, better safe then sorry, eh?

Hmmm...at $34.99...that would something like £17 for me. Bargain :D lol

pwjuggalo
07-13-2008, 09:10 PM
well i am thinking that i might use the paypal online credit card thing to see what shows up cause with that it is a temp credit number and is eliminated the moment you close the program....so they could steel it all the wanted unless they used it within 30 seconds it would come back canceled....i have thought that things were scams before and they turned out real like prizerebel they seem to good to be true or erewards but their not i can vouche that after the dedicated time they sent me the products

Cyrex
07-13-2008, 10:06 PM
ya it is probably true the only thing is that the word refurbished is in the mix here so you have know idea if they are covered in shit or have the red lights. Plus there is probably no warrenty

DigitalFury
07-13-2008, 10:33 PM
Plus there is probably no warrenty

Well, they say there is a one year warranty with all purchases. Unless, of course, you're speaking of the original manufacturer's warranty.

onemorechanc
07-14-2008, 06:15 PM
I clicked on the "Order Status" page just to see what would show up, and this is what I get:


Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /usr/home/xbox/webroot/includes/header.php:14) in /usr/home/xbox/webroot/tracking.php on line 57

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /usr/home/xbox/webroot/includes/header.php:14) in /usr/home/xbox/webroot/tracking.php on line 58


Badly coded sites make me wonder, and errors with line numbers that are not caught make me cringe.

But still, it's only $35 with free shipping ... I wonder what I would get for that price. Probably a nice case of identity fraud ...

matthewmcg360
08-02-2008, 05:06 AM
If your lucky enough to receive something it could be an "xbox 260" with colecovision graphics.

MoonSka
08-02-2008, 05:23 AM
I'd seen this and the PS3 site that is similar a couple of weeks ago. I was almost tempted to go and purchase a Visa $50 Gift Card to see if it would work. That way, if any Credit Card information was stolen, they most they would get would be the remaining $15.

Hammer 5O2
08-02-2008, 05:37 AM
i;ve seen this on another site before and someone tried it and it was indeed bullshit. dont fall for it.

GrUnTxSKaTeR
08-02-2008, 05:39 AM
I searched the site on a McAfee site and it came back with one review, for phishing and other scams, claiming that they steal your money.
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/refurbishedxbox360s.com/summary/
Scroll down until you see the reviews.

xENVxGAMERSKREW
08-02-2008, 09:15 AM
I searched the site on a McAfee site and it came back with one review, for phishing and other scams, claiming that they steal your money.
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/refurbishedxbox360s.com/summary/
Scroll down until you see the reviews. that sucks.. i was thinking of getting either 1 or 2 just to boost or to resell on ebay but too good to be true:p

benbam87
08-02-2008, 09:24 AM
Yeah I would not trust it at all

njdevils17
08-02-2008, 02:47 PM
I was at Gamestop the other day and some guy came into the store asking the clerk if he had heard about that website. The clerk said no but the guy said the site looks legitimate. The guy then showed my friend and I the site and it didn't look too legitimate to me. The guy then said he was going to get a 360 from there and that if it breaks he'd trade it in to Gamestop.

Just a quick word to the wise. If for some reason you plan on buying one of those 360's from there, use a pre-paid credit card.

plumbpist
08-02-2008, 04:01 PM
I wouldnt trust this at all.

Ashz0r
08-02-2008, 04:20 PM
It is a scam...

Read their FAQ Page:

Why is this Xbox 360 System so cheap?

We get paid through our network of sponsors for every survey you fill out. This gives us the purchasing power necessary to pass these large discounts on to you.


So its like timeshare.. even if you do get your x360 from them you'll probably be made to sit their and fill out £300 worth of surveys for them before they send it to you.

Peace
08-02-2008, 10:06 PM
If your lucky enough to receive something it could be an "xbox 260" with colecovision graphics.

Don't knock Coleco Vision! At least THAT system has Donkey Kong!!!

Jiga.Puzzle.5
08-05-2008, 11:59 PM
If they do send it.It will be a psx in a 360 box.

Chaosflare
08-06-2008, 12:02 AM
Why not just use a Visa or Mastercard giftcard? They are available for use with internet purchases. Not that I suggest going forward with this site.

njdevils17
08-06-2008, 12:21 AM
Why not just use a Visa or Mastercard giftcard? They are available for use with internet purchases. Not that I suggest going forward with this site.

Exactly. At least if it ends up being a scam you're only down $35. If you give them you're real credit card then they could rack up a pretty hefty bill.

oEliteSniper X
08-06-2008, 02:39 AM
It's a scam, I've seen a ton of posts on that sight and the phone number is of some church in no mans land. If you call it you get that the inbox is full. DO NOT ORDER.

Spot2009
08-06-2008, 09:27 AM
This is like that damned Beijing Olympics scam, only this one is WAY easier to spot.